Chocolate y Churros

Oh my goodness, I nearly failed my first resolution for 2011. As today dawned I realised I had not posted a Spanish recipe during January. I guess being 9 months pregnant I could have claimed maternity leave, but not one to shirk my duties, here it is.

Whenever I travel I always like to try the local dishes and when I lived in Spain I fully immersed myself into the Spanish culture and aimed to try all the traditional dishes. One of the things on my list to do was try “Churros con Chocolate”, the spanish version of doughnuts. In Madrid the dish is so popular that there are special Chocolaterias which serve it and during my time there I sampled the dish at various places, but the one lasting memory is my visit to San Gines, the oldest chocolateria in Madrid. The traditional time to visit is about 6.00am after you’ve been out partying all night – the spanish alternative to a fry-up!

Now for those of you thinking what can be so special about Doughnuts and Chocolate, well the Spanish are very serious about their chocolate. It can’t be compared to the hot chocolate drinks we have here; it is a rich, thick dark sauce that is not so much drunk but used to dunk the doughnuts in.

In the winter, the thick chocolate coats your insides and warms you through, and with the winter we’ve had I’m not sure why I’ve never attempted to make this before, but I decided to give it a whirl and found a recipe online from the divine Nigella. What’s more it fits with the blogging challenge set by Maison Cupcake “Forever Nigella” for this month of Seduced by Chocolate.

 

ForeverNigella_Banner_02

I based my efforts on the following recipe but added some of my own touches and tips for the method.

Churros
50g caster sugar
2 tsp ground cinnamon
125g plain flour
1 tsp baking powder
1 tbsp olive oil
250mL freshly boiled water

Chocolate Sauce
100g dark chocolate – use 70% cocoa solids.
1 table spoon golden Syrup
1 tsp cinnamon
150ml double cream
50ml milk – add more if the sauce is too bitter.

To make the chocolate sauce you need to put all the ingredients in a bowl over a pan of boiling water and allow the chocolate to melt to form a rich sauce.  For the Churros add the flour and baking powder to the bowl and then mix the oil and boiling water into the flour to make a sticky dough. Leave to rest for 10 minutes. Heat the oil in a fryer to 170C (If using a pan on the hob heat until a small piece of bread browns in less than 30 seconds).

Then place the dough into a piping bag with a star-shaped nozzle. (I used a glass to site the piping bag in as the dough is very sticky to deal with). Squeeze lengths of the dough into the hot oil. In a fryer the best way is to move the piping bag horizontally and then lifting up the bag to create lengths of 5cm. Fry for about 3 to 4 minutes until crispy and golden. Remove from the oil with a slotted spoon and drain on kitchen paper. Sprinkle with caster sugar.

They were lovely and worth the effort as the dough is not the easiest thing to work, especially with hot oil. Though I’m sure it will get easier to do with a little practice – and I’m definitely going to practice this again!! 

About Louise Sims

Independent Stampin' Up! Demonstrator at Stampin' Delight, Food and parent blogger at Comida y Vida
This entry was posted in Comida / Food, Recipe - Spanish and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Chocolate y Churros

  1. Debs @ DKC says:

    >Well done you. I don't bother to make these because they are so easily available everywhere over here in Spain, it seems pointless to make them. However I admire your efforts as the dough is notoriously awkward to work with as you found out LOL.Keep practicing. Make the churros and freeze for future use too!

  2. joskitchen says:

    >These look fantastic Louise. I could eat them now. Yummy!

  3. Sophie Bold says:

    >I love love love Churros. I need some of them now xxxx

  4. Louise says:

    >You're making me jealous Debs, but thanks for the tips on freezing. And Jo and Sophie – I could eat some more now too! lol

  5. >I absolutely love churros (well… who doesn't?!) and didn't realise Nigella had written about them. Good luck with your iminent arrival!

  6. >These look super-crisp – I just want to break a piece off and dip it in the chocolate. This recipe wasn't at the top of my 'list of Nigella recipes to try' but it's moved up since reading this.

Leave a Reply

