Bad News and a Good Show

It’s been a while since my last post due to a some bad news I got a few weeks ago … I found out that my Spanish Head Office had decided to close the UK office, which I run, and therefore I (and my assistant) would be out of a job at the end of the year. Lot of swear words sprung to mind along with many tears!

It was a BIG shock and particularly upsetting with me being 6 months pregnant. The thought of trying to find a job at 8 months pregnant and the financial implications it would all have was just too horrible to think about. So the past few weeks have been a bit of a emotional rollercoaster and I’m still unsure of what the future holds, but advice tells me I’m in a fairly good position to negotiate a good package so keeping my fingers (and toes, eyes and legs!!) crossed!!

With all this going on blogging has not been top of my thoughts; I wasn’t even tweeting for a few days, but then when I went back onto Twitter I can honestly say the support I had from fellow tweeps was heart-warming. Thanks to the 3 lovely Sarah’s Brockhall Farm, Brays Cottage and Essex Gourmet, Fiona from WhiteShutters, Jim of Cook In France, Jo of Jo’s Kitchen, Jules of Butcher and Baker and Charlene from No Love Sincerer …. bless you all! 

It’s at times like these that you know who cares for you, and my mum is no excpetion. We had planned on a visit, but with no income looming I had to cancel non-essentials, and then my mum surprised me with tickets to

snow_logo

So this morning we headed to the NEC. We had a lovely day sampling lots of lovely food (no drink this time for the pregnant lady!), meeting fellow tweeters and a couple of sessions in the Supertheatre.

Our first session in the Supertheatre was to see the Hairy Bikers, Si King and Dave Myers.

They were hilarious and the Lemon and Parsley Roasted Salmon with Champagne and Chive Sauce they did is on my festive menu already. The theatre sessions are a really good way to add a bit of celebrity chef enjoyment to the day.
The second session we had booked as part of the entry ticket was for Sainsbury’s Taste the Difference with Rachel Allen and Olly Smith.

Rachel was showcasing 3 types of canapes designed to wow your guests over the holiday season of which the Smoked Salmon Blini’s looked particularly good.

The rest of the day was spent wandering around the show, spotting a fair few celebrity chefs including James Martin, Gordon Ramsay and Mark Sargeant and sampling a wide range of products.

Top of my list to visit were a couple of twitter friends who were exhibiting. The first one to meet was Kate of the fabulous Gower Cottage Brownies. I have been dreaming of getting my hands on some brownies for quite some time (so much so that I was once dubbed a browniestalker!!) and now the day had finally arrived.

I have to say that they didn’t disappoint. A little square of squidgy, chocolatey heaven!! Made even more special by the fact they are created by a truly lovely lady and I shall be using my Brownie Shopping bag with pride!! 

Right around the corner was Bray’s Cottage Pork Pies, the acclaimed Perfect Pork Pie, so after a quick chat to Sarah and her helper Linda of With Knife and Fork I picked up one of each type of pie, The Naked Pie (the traditional), and 3 flavours including Onion Marmalade, Chilli and Chorizo.

Pork Pie Pork Pie

I was very good at not overspending this year, as I had my husbands last words as I headed out the door, still ringing in my ears “enjoy but don’t spend too much”!! But I couldn’t resist a few other treats including a selection of sausages from Supreme Sausages which we had for tea last night (recipe to come soon!)

and a subscription to Good Food Magazine which included 15% off and a free Le Creuset gift set worth £30!

So if you fancy braving the snow get yourself down to the NEC this weekend for a foodie delight!

About Louise Sims

Independent Stampin' Up! Demonstrator at Stampin' Delight, Food and parent blogger at Comida y Vida
This entry was posted in Comida / Food, Reviews, Vida / Life and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Bad News and a Good Show

  1. Debs says:

    >Hi Louise, so sorry to hear your bad news. Glad your trip to the NEC cheared you up a little though!I'd love to visit myself, but even that show is not enough to make me leave Spain for a quick visit LOL.Debs

  2. >gutted to hear about your bad news but new doors will open just wait and see!

  3. Charlene says:

    >Thanks for the mention!Also, thanks for blogging about this. I feel really left out not being able to go – I especially have always wanted to try one of Bray's Cottage Pork Pies! They look delish. So, thanks for letting me have a little look at what the show was like.Best wishes and luck for the future. xx

  4. Kavey says:

    >I'm really sorry to hear your news but hope it will absolutely be a case of one door closing and another one, leading to somewhere even better, opening in it's place.

  5. Sarah says:

    >So sorry to miss you on the day. Really enjoyed this post; what a great round-up of some top producers like @Brays_Cottage and @gowercottage Good luck with your 'bump' and look forward to meeting you soon.Love, Sarah

  6. Louise says:

    >Thanks for all the comments and well wishes guys.Who knows with no job in the New year, I'll have time to blog more, will definitely be cooking more as eating out will be a no-no, and I may even get chance to meet Sarah and her girls!! 😉

Leave a Reply

