Blue Door Bakery Cupcake Class

Last year was the year of my wedding, it was a year of planning, preparation and crafting! You see I decided to make my own invites, place settings, decorations to name but a few things. With my chief bridesmaid in tow, aka my little sister, we spent at least one night a week together preparing all this.

Table Plan

Place Name

Since the wedding we have both been separately doing crafty things, but had wanted something we could do together. So I had my thinking cap on for a while, and then by the magic that is twitter I found Blue Door Bakery and that was it – 2 places booked for me and my sis on a Cupcake Decorating Class.

Sarah hosts the classes from her beautiful home and made us all feel very welcome. We began by learning a bit the cupcakes themselves, with top tips on how perfect them and to avoid making them too dry. Sarah then went on to show us how to use Sugarpaste Icing, how to colour it and how to create different shapes. Then it was our turn to have a go, and we all got to have a play with the huge arrangement of cutters, colours, glitters, glazes and edible dust to make a few toppers for our own cupcakes.

So one sunny May evening we went off to Blue Door HQ in Hagley and met Sarah, the person behind Blue Door Bakery, along with 5 other ladies, including Laura, a bride-to-be who has a fab blog about all the trials and tribulations of planning her wedding day.

Whilst waiting for our sugarpaste shapes to dry out Sarah gave us a quick demo on fondant icing and then it was time to make the Buttercream Icing. Apparently you just have to “embrace the mess” as there is no clean way to make it, with icing sugar clouds filling the kitchen.

Cupcake Class, Making Buttercream

Sarah showed us how to pipe swirls and roses, she made it look so easy but I guess that just comes with practice. Then it was time to decorate our very own cupcakes.

We each had a box of 12 and could use any of the Sugarpaste toppers or the huge of array of sprinkles that Sarah has in stock. I did find my swirls got better and by cupcake number 10 they were almost decent! The roses are a different story and fear there may be a lot more practicing required.

Cupcake

It was such a fun way to spend an evening, learning new skills, getting creative, some good laughs and then leaving with a box of cupcakes! I would highly recommend attending one of the classes. By the time I got home, I was on a icing sugar high, and thought a cupcake and coffee would be the perfect way to finish off the evening.

And to top it off the cupcakes tasted awesome. I don’t think I’ve ever tasted such a light and fluffy cake. Heavenly indeed!! Needless to say the box of 12 didn’t last long so now it’s my time to have a go …. so watch this space.

About Louise Sims

Independent Stampin' Up! Demonstrator at Stampin' Delight, Food and parent blogger at Comida y Vida
This entry was posted in Comida / Food, Cookery Class and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

