A visit to my second homeland

May has been a hectic month, with a very busy social and work life. Part of that was caused by a 5 day business trip to my Head office, which is located in Ourense, NW Spain. Whilst I love any excuse to go back to Spain, please don’t think this was just a jolly, it’s actually quite hard work! We take a group of customers out to the quarries to see how our roofing slates are produced, so it’s a lot of hosting and translating for me, but I do love it! The worst thing is the travelling as it’s quite a drive to this remote part of Spain.

O'Barco, Ourense, Galicia                                             

Glamourous? … maybe not!

For me the best thing about going on these business trips, is not only to see my colleagues and practice my spanish, but the food! If you weren’t aware already (not sure how it might have escaped you if have read any of my random tweets or earlier posts) but I love Spanish food. I love how each dish is simple but tasty, langostines in garlic, jamon iberico, grilled seabass, tortilla espanola, …. must stop or else will be drooling over the keyboard!

The only downside for the purpose of this blog is that because the eating was all business dinners I didn’t think it right to photo the food. So whilst I have no pics of the food I ate during my trip, I did get an hour to myself in Oviedo on the Saturday, I headed straight to the supermarket.

Octopus

Fancy some octopus or prawns? There was so much choice and it was all so fresh, and this was in a standard spanish supermarket. It reminded me of how poor the selection of fresh fish is in our supermarkets in the UK, and whilst I do admit things have improved over recent years I think we still lag behind.

Whilst fish is not suitable for packing into the suitcase (it did cross my mind for a millisecond!) I did bring home some cured meats including Jamon serrano, Chorizo and Morcilla (spanish black pudding). Mainly because I have converted my other half into a spanophile. Is that the right word for the spanish equivalent to a francophile? In fact is there a word for a lover of all things Spanish? Anyway as he wasn’t able to join me on the trip I thought it best to bring a little something home and during the lovely weather we had in the last couple of weeks we enjoyed a tapas meal on the patio.

Tapas, Chorizo, Jamon

Chorizo in Wine

There is nothing better than some jam, chorizo, smoked salmon served with some crusty bread and a green salad. The other pot had some garlic mushrooms which are also perfect on slices of crusty bread too.

The trip was good but it has made me yearn for a holiday to Spain, so I can sample some more spanish gastronomic delights and share it with the hubby too of course!! Not a possibility this year sadly but for now we still have some chorizo to keep us happy!There is nothing better than some jam, chorizo, smoked salmon served with some crusty bread and a green salad. The other pot had some garlic mushrooms which are also perfect on slices of crusty bread too.

Since getting home from the trip I’ve been fairy busy with work but also with some more foodie experiences which I can’t wait to fill you in on including dinner at Weston Park and a cupcake decorating class with Sarah at BlueDoorBakery.

Will be back soon with more tales from this staffordshire senorita!

About Louise Sims

Independent Stampin' Up! Demonstrator at Stampin' Delight, Food and parent blogger at Comida y Vida
This entry was posted in Comida / Food, Spain Travel and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

