Asparagus …. in purple!!

As I mentioned previously I love asparagus, not only does it taste great, but apparently it is a superfood and good for you! Low in calories and packed full of nutrients including folic acid, potassium, fiber, thiamin and vitamins A, B6 and C, it is a tasty vegetable that provides numerous health benefits. 

In my mind you can’t beat locally grown British Green asparagus, when in season. I have also tried the white asparagus which they use a lot in the Mediterranean, but this is one of the few things I don’t miss from my times in Spain, as I find the texture slightly off putting and it has a bittersweet taste.

During my time at Ludlow Spring Fair I came across a new type of asparagus …. purple! My favourite colour and in a tasty vegetable, it brought a smile to my face!

This was on show by Shropshire Asparagus, who grow both green and purple types at their farm in Bridgnorth. Well, I just couldn’t resist getting some of the purple, as I love trying new things. The very helpful ladies on the stall went on to explain that the purple variety, which is only grown by a handful of producers in the UK, has much smaller quantities of lignin, the fibrous ­material that makes the green version stringy, which makes it perfect for eating raw, and incorporating into salads.

With the hint of summer in the air, it wasn’t long before I used it in a simple salad.

The combination of salad leaves, purple asparagus and the spanish goats cheese Murcia al Vino, which with it’s purple hue was a perfect compliment, created an attractive and delicious looking salad. Served with a hunk of crusty bread on the patio and I was in heaven. I really did enjoy the flavour and texture the purple asparagus gives to the salad. 

Which leaves me to part with my only dilemma – where to get some more without driving to Bridgnorth? I have not seen it any of my local supermarkets. Do you know where a south staffordshire foodie can satisfy her purple asparagus desires?

About Louise Sims

Independent Stampin' Up! Demonstrator at Stampin' Delight, Food and parent blogger at Comida y Vida
This entry was posted in Comida / Food, Local Produce and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Asparagus …. in purple!!

  1. >Ah, al fresco dining at last! A lovely idea, though I've never seen purple asparagus. Perhaps raw shavings of the standard green stuff would be sufficient?

Leave a Reply

