Tortilla de patata perfected

So it’s been a while since my first post and before I get stuck into this one I feel I should tell you why. 2010 did not start out as planned, taken down by the sickness bug in the first few days and attacked by the dreaded “woman flu” made the first two months of 2010 hard. This was in addition to a hectic few weeks at work and a wedding invite order to do in my spare time, so it’s been a struggle to keep on top of the housework let alone think of blogging!! I have however managed to try out some new recipes and have eaten some lovely food in past two months, but unfortunately none has been photographed or noted down to share.

However, the one thing that has been a regular item on the menu is the humble spanish tortilla, which I find a huge comfort at any time of the year. In winter it makes a perfect breakfast with a strong coffee and a huge hunk of crusty bread, in summer I like it with a simple tomato salad. It’s also perfect as an item on a traditional spanish tapas menu, so versatile and so very tasty.

After living in Spain for a year and a half I came home with a huge love of the spanish tortilla. In Santander where I spent my first 6 months they have a regional speciality of creating toppings for the tortilla, whether it be simple like ham and cheese or something a little different like tuna or blue cheese. Furthermore, despite my well travelled antics across Spain I have never found anywhere serving it quite the same! My year in Madrid learned me to love the tortilla in it’s simplest form and this is what I have been trying to recreate on my return home.

I set to work trying out various recipes, because whilst the ingredients are always the same; onion, potatoes and eggs, the method of preparation varies and seems to be the key to creating the perfect tortilla. Many of my first attempts lacked the mositness and flavour of the ones in Spain, being a little dry or bland. So after many practices I think I have now perfected it and patience is the key!

Tortilla de Patata

700g of potatoes, I use desiree for their waxy texture and they’re always readily available. Peeled and sliced thinly. 
1 large spanish onion, sliced thinly and seperated into half moon shapes.
4 medium free-range eggs, beaten
salt and freshly ground pepper
6 tblsp olive oil

In a large frying pan gently heat 4 tblsp of oilve oil and place in all the potato and onion and slowly fry. Now this is the important bit as at first I tried to rush it but this where you build up all the flavour.The best is to take your time with this, I normally let it fry for about 40 mins and as the onion and smaller potato pieces turn golden brown and caramelised I remove them from the pan, and keep going till all of it has a golden colour.

Let the potato and onion mix cool slightly and then mix in the beaten eggs until the potatoes are coated in the egg. Season the mixture generously.

In a smaller non-stick frying pan heat the remaining oil and once hot pour in the potato mix. Again use a moderate heat and let it cook slowly. Once the eggs have started to set I tend to shake the pan so the tortilla doesn’t stick and then once it looks set and safe to turn over, normally after about 5 minutes, place a plate over the pan and flip over so the tortilla is on the plate and then slide it back into pan on uncooked side to finish cooking for a couple of minutes. Turn out onto serving plate.

 


Spanish Tortilla

Spanish Tortilla

Spanish Tortilla

 


Spanish Tortilla

Spanish Tortilla

Spanish Tortilla

This is best served once left to cool and is better at room temperature rather than chilled. It will keep for a few days, though it never lasts that long in my house!

About Louise Sims

Independent Stampin' Up! Demonstrator at Stampin' Delight, Food and parent blogger at Comida y Vida
This entry was posted in Comida / Food, Recipe - Spanish and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Tortilla de patata perfected

  1. Kavey says:

    >Looks delish!

  2. Linby says:

    >this looks yummy!Lynn x

  3. >That does look great and reminds me of holidays in Spain where I have had many spanish tortillas over the years 🙂 Great recipe!

  4. >Looks wonderful. I make mine with an awful lot of oil, as it seems to be the only way to get that authentic taste, but I'll try your method next time.

Leave a Reply

